skip to content

By Lesley Dingle and Daniel Bates

Stapleton, Professor B. Jane (b. 26th March 1952, Sydney Australia)

Some Career Highlights

  • Master of Christ’s College, Cambridge
  • Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy
  • Honorary Bencher of Gray’s Inn, United Kingdom
  • Council of the American Law Institute
  • Honorary Fellow, St John’s College, Cambridge
  • Emeritus Fellow, Balliol College, University of Oxford
  • Ernest E. Smith Professor of Law, University of Texas at Austin School of Law
  • Statutory Visiting Professor, University of Oxford Faculty of Law
  • Emeritus Distinguished Professor of Law, The Australian National University
  • Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law
  • Arthur Goodhart Visiting Professor of Legal Science, University of Cambridge
  • Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia (2007)

Science Career

  • 1974, BSc. Chemistry, University of New South Wales
  • 1977, PhD, University of Adelaide
  • 1976-7, Visiting Doctoral Scholar, Warwick University
  • 1977, Postdoctoral Researcher (Dudley Williams' Group), University of Cambridge

Law Career

  • 1981, LL.B. Australian National University
  • 1981, Barrister of the Supreme Court of New South Wales
  • 1984, Barrister of the High Court of Australia
  • 1984, DPhil., Oxford University (Balliol College)
  • 2008, Doctor of Civil Law, University of Oxford


  • 2000, Arhens Visiting Professor of Tort Law, Washburn Law School, Kansas
  • 2001, Professor of Comparative Private Law, European University Institute
  • 2001, Legal Research Foundation Visiting Fellow, University of Auckland
  • 2007, Visiting Professor, Columbia Law School
  • 2008, Adjunct Lecturer, Philosophy Summer School in Taiyuan, China
  • 2012, Visiting Professor, Harvard Law School

Awards, Prizes and Honours

  • 1981, University Medal, Australian National University; The Supreme Court Judges’ Prize
  • 1995, Wedderburn Prize, Modern Law Review
  • 2013, The American Association of Law Schools' Prosser Award, honours those "who have made an outstanding contribution to the world of tort law scholarship" (only non-US recipient).
  • 2016, The American Bar Association's Robert B. McKay Law Professor Award, honours “those attorneys who have shown commitment to the advancement of justice, scholarship and the legal profession, demonstrated by outstanding contributions to the fields of tort and insurance law” (only non-US recipient).
  • 2018, Clarendon Lecturer in Law, Oxford University
  • 2018, The John Fleming Prize in Tort Law, a biennial international award for outstanding contributions to the field.
  • 2018, Awarded degree of Doctor of Laws (honoris causa) by the University of Adelaide in acknowledgement of distinguished service to the law in Australia, the United Kingdom and the United States.